2021 ACVS Foundation Legends Award

Clarence A. Rawlings, DVM, PhD, Diplomate, ACVS, is the recipient of the ACVS Foundation Legends Award for his dedication and contributions to the field of veterinary surgery.

Dr. Rawlings is a professor emeritus at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a past president of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and still directs Veterinary Endoscopy Training Symposia at the University of Georgia. He is a founding member of the Veterinary Endoscopy Society and a co-editor of the definitive work on minimally invasive endoscopy, *Small Animal Endoscopy*.

Dr. Rawlings is a pioneer in both the development and teaching of laparoscopic surgical procedures. He developed numerous procedures that are in general use today, including laparoscopic-assisted gastropexy, laparoscopic-assisted cystotomy for calculi removal, and soft palate resection using the LigaSure vessel sealing device.



Clarence A. Rawlings, DVM, PhD Diplomate, ACVS

He has popularized the notion that minimally invasive soft tissue procedures are both possible and worth pursuing in veterinary patients. Residents are required to have experience with these procedures to meet residency training requirements. Dr. Rawlings' work has encouraged veterinary surgeons throughout the world to expand the use of minimally invasive procedures to even the most complicated cases.

"It is not often that someone's contributions to veterinary surgery open up an entirely new sub-specialty," noted a colleague.

Past recipients of the ACVS Foundation Legends Award:

2005 - George P. Wilson, VMD, MSc, DACVS

2006 - Martin P. DeAngelis, DVM, DACVS

2007 - Charles W. Raker, VMD, DACVS

2008 - Marvin L. Olmstead, DVM, MS, DACVS

2009 - George E. Eyster, VMD, MS, DACVS

2010 - Larry R. Bramlage, DVM, MS, DACVS

2011 - Robert L. Leighton, VMD, DACVS

2012 - H. Phil Hobson, DVM, MS, DACVS

2014 - Barrie D. Grant, DVM, MS, DACVS

2015 - Donald L. Piermattei, DVM, MS, DACVS

2016 - Jon F. Dee, DVM, MS, DACVS

2017 - Bruce L. Hull, DVM, MS, DACVS

2018 - Joseph J. Foerner, Jr. DVM, MS, DACVS

2019 - C. Wayne McIlwraith, BVSc, PhD, DACVS

2020 - Lloyd "Jock" P. Tate, Jr., VMD, DABLSM, MFH, DACVS

The ACVS Foundation Legends Award recognizes ACVS Diplomates who have developed a surgical or diagnostic procedure of significant value, proven by becoming the test or treatment of choice for a given condition. The procedure or test has "withstood the test of time" and, although possibly modified over time, remains the treatment or diagnostic method of choice or the scientific basis for the current treatment of choice. The procedure or test is novel and involves advancements in veterinary surgical science and not reapplication of general medical science.