AWARDS

ACVS FOUNDERS' AWARD FOR CAREER ACHIEVEMENT

In selecting Larry R. Bramlage, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, for the *ACVS Founders' Award for Career Achievement*, the ACVS membership recognizes a world-renowned leader in equine orthopedics, the grandfather of equine fracture fixation, and one of the pioneers of arthroscopic surgery.

As a preeminent veterinary surgeon for over 35 years, Dr. Bramlage has contributed immensely to knowledge of veterinary orthopedic surgery in research, development of advanced orthopedic techniques, and teaching. He was a surgeon and professor at The Ohio State University (1978–83, 1984–89), and subsequently joined the staff at Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital as the lead orthopedic surgeon. He became a partner in the practice in 1992 and has been at the hospital ever since.



Larry R. Bramlage, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS

Dr. Bramlage has trained equine surgery interns and residents continually in both academic and private practice settings, many who are now well-known ACVS Diplomates, as well as other specialty veterinarians. His research career, which began at The Ohio State University, continued into private practice. He was a highly productive academician and, even more unusual, an "academic" private practitioner. Dr. Bramlage was author or co-author of 85 refereed publications from 1982 to 2014. His teaching includes major efforts in the continuing education of veterinarians in AO Techniques in Fracture Repair. He has been the Chairman, Course Originator and Developer of the Advanced Course of Internal Fixation of Fractures and Non-unions at The Ohio State University from 1985 to the present.

Dr. Bramlage has received numerous awards and distinctions, including: Distinguished Service Award from the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) (twice); Jockey Club Gold Medal for Contributions to Thoroughbred Racing (1994); Tierklinik Hochmoor Award for "Contributions to Equine Fracture Repair" (1997); Distinguished Alumnus Award from The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine (1999); "Special Award of Merit" for "Immense Contributions to Equine Veterinary Progress" from the British Equine Veterinary Association (2000); and Joe Palmer Award, presented by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters for Meritorious Service to Thoroughbred Racing (2007). Dr. Bramlage also received the ACVS Foundation Legends Award for contributions to equine orthopedic surgery (2010) and became an ACVS Founding Fellow in Minimally Invasive Surgery in Large Animal in 2017.

Past recipients of the ACVS Founders' Award for Career Achievement:

2017: Jörg A. Auer, DMV, MS, DECVS
2016: Michael M. Pavletic, DVM
2015: Alan J. Nixon, BVSc, PhD
2014: Susan M. Stover, DVM, PhD
2013: A. Simon Turner, BVSc, MS
2012: Steven J. Withrow, DVM
2011: Steven P. Arnoczky, DVM
2009: Donald L. Piermattei, DVM, PhD
2008: William Lumb, DVM, PhD, DSc
2007: Fred P. Sattler, DVM
2006: C. Wayne McIlwraith, BVSc, PhD
2005: Wade O. Brinker, DVM, MS

Dr. Bramlage contributed to numerous national and international organizations, including 23 years of presentations at the AAEP Annual Convention and multiple years at the ACVS Forums and Symposia. He served on the ACVS Board of Regents (1995-98) and was President (2007) and Chair of the Board (2008). He is on the Board of Directors of the Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation (2002 to present) and served on the Research Advisory Committee from 1997 to 2011, during which he was Chair, and from 2015 to the present. He served on multiple committees for the AAEP and was President of AAEP in 2004. Dr. Bramlage was the sole On-Call Veterinarian for the Triple Crown races (Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes) from 2002 to 2014, which was a particularly remarkable commitment to his time away from practice.

Colleagues noted: "Dr. Bramlage has proven over the years to be collegial, industrious, honest, brilliant, and a remarkably reliable working part of both the equine industry and our specialty of veterinary surgery."

The ACVS Founders' Award for Career Achievement was established to recognize the service of ACVS Diplomates who have distinguished themselves in the pursuit of surgery by making significant contributions to the development of surgical techniques and methodology, and disseminating knowledge to colleagues, residents, and students.

10