AWARDS

ACVS FOUNDATION LEGENDS AWARD

Bruce Hull, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, is the recipient of the 2017 ACVS Foundation Legends Award for his dedication and contributions to the field of veterinary surgery.

Dr. Hull received his DVM from Cornell in 1965 and his MS from Iowa State University. In 1976, after practicing in Delmar, NY and eight years at Iowa State University, he became an associate professor of food animal at The Ohio State University. He developed a career-long premier food animal surgery program at The Ohio State University until he retired in 2005.

Dr. Hull is internationally known for his expertise and dedication to advancing surgery, training veterinary students, and helping clients and animals. He was a pioneering surgeon in the development of many procedures, such as blind-stitch abomasopexy, pararectal seminal vesiculectomy, silicone teat implants for treatment of teat-gland cisternal obstructions, cross pinning of capital physeal fractures in bulls, and a variety of other commonly performed surgeries still done today.

Dr. Hull has received numerous teaching awards, including Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Norden Distinguished Teacher, Clinical Teacher of the Year, and Referral Clinician of the Year. In 2004, Dr. Hull received the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) Alpharma Award of Excellence for consistently and directly influencing veterinarians in bovine practice. In 2008, he received the AABP and Intervet/ Schering-Plough Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award for outstanding mentoring of students, interns, residents, and graduate students throughout his career.

The ACVS Foundation Legends Award recognizes ACVS Diplomates who have developed a surgical or diagnostic procedure of significant value, proven by becoming the treatment or test of choice for a given condition. The procedure or test has "withstood the test of time" and, although possibly modified over time, remains the treatment or diagnostic method of choice or the scientific basis for the current treatment of choice. The procedure or test is novel and involves advancements in veterinary surgical science and not reapplication of general medical science.



Bruce Hull, DVM, MS, DACVS

Past recipients of the ACVS Foundation Legends Award:

2005: George P. Wilson, VMD, MSc 2006: Martin P. DeAngelis, DVM 2007: Charles W. Raker, VMD 2008: Marvin L. Olmstead, DVM, MS 2009: George E. Eyster, VMD, MS 2010: Larry R. Bramlage, DVM, MS 2011: Robert L. Leighton, VMD 2012: H. Phil Hobson, DVM, MS 2014: Barrie D. Grant, DVM, MS 2015: Donald L. Piermattei, DVM, PhD 2016: Jon F. Dee, DVM, MS

