## **AWARDS**

## **ACVS FOUNDATION LEGENDS AWARD**

Presented at the Mark W. Allam Lecture & Awards Ceremony 8:00–9:30am, Thursday Ballroom 6E, Level 6

Jon F. Dee, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Diplomate ACVSMR, receives the 2016 ACVS Foundation Legends Award for his dedication and contributions to the field of veterinary surgery.

Dr. Dee was one of the primary surgeons responsible for defining fracture types and treatments in the carpus and tarsus in the racing dog. He developed numerous guidelines and techniques for dealing with these challenging injuries.

Dr. Dee has numerous awards, including the AVMA Practitioner Research Award, the AAHA Practitioner of the Year Award-Southeast, the Wilford S. Bailey Distinguished Alumnus of Auburn, and honorary ESVOT membership. Dr. Dee has written many journal articles and textbook chapters and is a co-editor of *Canine Sports Medicine and Surgery*. He has been on the editorial review boards for *Veterinary Surgery*, *Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association*, and the *Journal of Small Animal Practice*.

Dr. Dee is a partner and Chief of Surgery at Hollywood Animal Hospital in Hollywood, FL. He is also a Courtesy Clinical Professor in the Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences at the University of Florida and Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Science at The Ohio State University. He continues to lecture both nationally and internationally.

The ACVS Foundation Legends Award recognizes ACVS Diplomates who have developed a surgical or diagnostic procedure of significant value, proven by becoming the treatment or test of choice for a given condition. The procedure or test has "withstood the test of time" and, although possibly modified over time, remains the treatment or diagnostic method of choice or the scientific basis for the current treatment of choice. The procedure or test is novel and involves advancements in veterinary surgical science and not reapplication of general medical science.



Jon F. Dee, DVM, MS, DACVS, DACVSMR

## Past recipients of the ACVS Foundation Legends Award:

2005: George P. Wilson, VMD, MSc 2006: Martin P. DeAngelis, DVM 2007: Charles W. Raker, VMD 2008: Marvin L. Olmstead, DVM, MS 2009: George E. Eyster, VMD, MS 2010: Larry R. Bramlage, DVM, MS 2011: Robert L. Leighton, VMD 2012: H. Phil Hobson, DVM, MS 2014: Barrie D. Grant DVM, MS 2015: Donald L. Piermattei, DVM, PhD

